President Tinubu Forwards List Of Service Chiefs To Senate For Confirmation

President Bola Tinubu has asked the Senate to confirm his newly appointed service chiefs.

Senate President Godswill Akpabio read the letter from President Tinubu on the confirmation of the appointment of Service Chiefs during plenary on Tuesday.

The names and positions listed are:

1. Maj. Gen. C.G Musa, Chief of Defence Staff

2. Maj. Gen. T. A Lagbaja, Chief of Army Staff

3. Rear Admiral E. A Ogalla, Chief of Naval Staff

4. AVM H.B Abubakar, Chief of Air Staff

After reading the letter, the request of Mr. President was referred to the Committee of the Whole.

Recall that last week Thursday, the President had written to the House of Representatives as well, seeking the confirmation of the new service chiefs.

In a letter addressed to the Speaker of the House, Tajudeen Abbas, and read at plenary on Thursday, the president asked the lawmakers to expeditiously confirm the appointment of the service chiefs.

The president in the letter said that the request was in compliance with the provisions of Section 18(1) of the Armed Forces Act. Cap A20 Laws the Federation of Nigeria 2004.

The letter reads: “In compliance with the provisions of section 18(1) of the Armed Forces Act. CAP A20 Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, I am pleased to present for confirmation by the senate the four nominees listed below.

“The House of Representatives is invited to note the current security situation of our country which requires concerted efforts of both the legislature and the executive to ensure a well-protected nation.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *