Reps Begins Screening Of Service Chiefs

The newly-appointed Service Chiefs have begun screening by an Ad-hoc Committee set up by the 10th House of Representatives.

The Screening Committee is led by the Majority Leader of the House, Hon. Julius Ihonvbere (APC- Edo State).

The nominated Service Chiefs are Major General C.G Musa as Chief of Defence Staff; Major General T. A. Lagbaja as Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral E. A. Ogalla as Chief of Naval Staff; and Air Vice Marshal H.B. Abubakar as Chief of Air Staff.

The House Speaker, Tajudeen Abbas, had declared the formation of the Ad-hoc Committee, stating that it would consist of the eight principal officers of the House from both the majority and minority parties.

The Majority Caucus includes Hon. Julius Ihonvbere as Majority Leader and Hon. Adewunmi Oriyomi Onanuga as Deputy Chief Whip. The Minority Caucus features Hon. Kingsley Chinda as Minority Leader and Hon. George Ozodinobi as Deputy Minority Whip.

The Chairman of the Adhoc Committee of the House, Babajimi Benson, said members of the Armed Forces must adhere strictly to the provisions of the Appropriation Act and urged them to work in synergy by sharing intelligence.

He further said the National Assembly would review the performances of the service chiefs if they are confirmed.

The session followed the Senate’s Thursday screening and confirmation of the appointment of the service chiefs.

Senate President Godswill Akpabio said the service chiefs answered questions on defence-related matters and topical issues during the closed-door session.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *